5 Vegan Friendly Alcohol Drinks You Should Know About

Next time you're at the pub you can order some of these vegan drinks
Author:
Publish date:
There is a wide range of vegan alcoholic drinks you can order at the bar (Photo: Natasha Kapur)

There is a wide range of vegan alcoholic drinks you can order at the bar (Photo: Natasha Kapur)

Your mate just ordered a Strongbow at the bar - but you know the brand's cider is not vegan.

You can't get certain beers or most wines either; and you're getting really bored with the usual Heineken - so what's left? 

When in doubt, check Barnivore - an online database with over 30,000 alcoholic beverages that will aid you in the quest to find vegan booze.

1. Amaretto

Although Amaretto is known to use an infusion of the Amaretti cookies, and its original recipe included egg whites and honey, most Ameretto brands are actually vegan-friendly.

Brands such as Lazzaroni, Disaronno, and Maraschino all offer Amaretto that is suitable for vegans.

2. Old Mout Kiwi and Lime

You might be surprised to learn that many of the brand's ciders are vegan! 

Although some of Old Mout's drinks contain cochineal, Passionfruit & Apple is also vegan-friendly.

3. Amstel

Amstel's entire range of lagers and radlers are vegan-friendly, with no animal-based process aids used in the brewing process.

Amstel, which is a Heineken-owned brewery brand, offers Amstel Lager, Amstel Light, and Amstel Radler.

Wine brand Frog's Leap has several vegan options

Wine brand Frog's Leap has several vegan options

4. Frog's Leap

Frog's Leap has several vegan wines on offer, including the Red Wine, Pink, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Chardonnay.

5. Pimm's

Fruit liqueur favorite Pimm's is fully vegan. Pimm's Blackberry & Elderflower, No. 1 Cup, and Winter are all ethically-sourced and suitable for vegans.

READ MORE:

10 Delicious UK Sweets You Didn't Know Are Vegan

'We're Top Of The Food Chain' And 7 Other Annoying Things People Say To Vegans

Misconception: Is Honey Cruel? Why Isn't It Vegan?