All forms of Guinness - including draft, cans, and bottles - are now suitable for vegans.
Guinness used to be filtered with isinglass (fish swim bladders) but the company announced back in 2015 that it would be using implementing a new filtration system that was veg-friendly.
By April 2017, draft Guinness was suitable for vegans - but bottles and cans still contained isinglass.
In a statement, Guinness manufacturer Diageo said: "Our new filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness."
According to Diego, the recipe hasn't changed - just the filtration method.
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in this article are prepared in the author's capacity and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Plant Based News itself.Reuse this content
Maria is the Editor of Plant Based News. A former magazine editor, newspaper reporter, and features writer, her work has been published by The Guardian, The Huffington Post, and various regional newspapers. She was previously the editor of Vegan Life magazine and Vegan Trade Journal. She has interviewed a huge range of people, from Prime Ministers to authors, activists, pop stars and actors, and enjoys the varied range of topics writing for PBN allows her to tackle. You can follow her on Twitter @MariaChiorando and Instagram @mariachiorando.
Since you're here...
Plant Based News is a FREE service that receives millions of views each week on Youtube, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, our weekly newsletter and this website. This takes a lot of our personal time, money and hard work. But we do it because we KNOW it makes a difference. If those following our reporting helped by contributing, we could do even more. Please consider supporting us so we can create further awareness about animal rights, environmentalism, ethical consumerism and the plant-based lifestyle. Not a false narrative - but information that empowers people to make better choices.