130-Year-Old Iconic Sweets Rowntree's Fruit Pastilles 'Officially Going Vegan'

The news was revealed by Vegan Food U.K - which shared an image of the sweets' new packaging which says they are now vegan-friendly
Author:
Publish date:
Shoppers are reminded to check the packaging - this is the old packaging - the new bag says 'vegan-friendly' 

Shoppers are reminded to check the packaging - this is the old packaging - the new bag says 'vegan-friendly' 

Iconic British sweets Rowntree's Fruit Pastilles are officially going vegan in October, according to Vegan Food UK.

Vegan Food UK is an online organization sharing vegan food news, reviews, vlogs, and more. It operates across multiple social media platforms, with a Facebook group, Facebook page, YouTube channel, and Instagram account.

It revealed the news in an Instagram post shared earlier today, in which it also revealed that Jelly Tots sweets - also made by Rowntree's and already suitable for vegans - will soon boast new packaging which says they are vegan-friendly.

Vegan sweets

Rowntree's Fruit Pastilles - which were developed by confectioner Henry Rowntree alongside his brother Joseph, and French confectioner August Claude Gaget more than 130-years-ago - contain gelatine, meaning they are not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. 

But from October, Fruit Pastilles sharing bags will be suitable for vegans. From February 2021, single tubes and multipacks will join them.

Sharing an image of the new packaging, the organization wrote: "BREAKING: Rowntree's Fruit Pastilles are officially going vegan. We have evidence that Rowntree's Fruit Pastilles are going vegan, with new vegan labeling. Swipe left to see that Rowntree's Jelly Tots will also get new vegan labeling too."

The group reminded shoppers to make sure they check the packaging on the sweets before buying, to ensure they pick up the new vegan recipe pastilles.

'Many requests'

Confirming the news, Meg Miller, brand manager for Rowntree’s said: "We’ve had many requests from consumers over the years asking if we can make Fruit Pastilles vegetarian or vegan.

"We want the brand to be enjoyed by as many consumers as possible and so we are delighted to be able to introduce our new vegan-friendly recipe across the full range of sweets."

She added: "The product development specialists at our factory in Fawdon have spent a huge amount of time and care perfecting the new formulation. We hope all Fruit Pastilles fans will agree that we have succeeded in developing a recipe which is as deliciously chewy as it has ever been, whilst at the same time being suitable for those following vegetarian, vegan and religious diets.”

Related