All Guinness Is Now Suitable For Vegans - Draft, Bottle And Can

The company announced it would veganize its products back in 2015
Author:
Publish date:
The company announced it would veganize its products back in 2015 (Photo: Vimeo)

The company announced it would veganize its products back in 2015 (Photo: Vimeo)

All forms of Guinness - including draft, cans, and bottles - are now suitable for vegans.

Guinness used to be filtered with isinglass (fish swim bladders) but the company announced back in 2015 that it would be using implementing a new filtration system that was veg-friendly.

By April 2017, draft Guinness was suitable for vegans - but bottles and cans still contained isinglass.

Animal rights charity PETA tweeted the news (Photo: Twitter)

Animal rights charity PETA tweeted the news (Photo: Twitter)

'Filtration'

In a statement, Guinness manufacturer Diageo said: "Our new filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness."

According to Diego, the recipe hasn't changed - just the filtration method.